California | Business Law
Legal Question
Paid under the table
If i was paid under the table, and got fired, and then my employers decided to report my income what would happen and who would be responsible for the taxes?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Harrison |
Re: Paid under the table You would be responsible for income taxes regardless of how you were paid. Just because you were paid "under the table" doesn't mean you don't have to report your income to the IRS and pay income taxes. You ALWAYS have to report all income. Your employer would be responsible for his share of the payroll taxes.
Were you at least paid minimum wage and given meal and rest breaks? If not, the employer may owe you money, plus penalties and interest. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13882
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6471
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


