California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/08/08, 4:12 pm

Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

Five individuals including myself were ripped off by the same company under different (but blatantly fraudulent) circumstances. Can we file our lawsuit together without it being considered a class action suit?

5 Answers


Answered on: 5/08/08, 4:19 pm by Edward Hoffman

Re: Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

Multiple plaintiffs can file a single lawsuit, but only where their claims arise from the same set of facts. Since you say the five potential plaintiffs were each cheated under different circumstances, five separate lawsuits would probably be more appropriate.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/08, 4:20 pm by Mel Larew

Re: Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

Basis answer is Yes, you can. However, depending on your individual facts and circumsances (similarities and dissimilarities) the court may separate them into separate actions. The only way to find out for certain is to try (even if technically they should be separated, the defendant may not ask for it and therefore the judge may just ignore that possibility).


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/08, 4:58 pm by OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

Re: Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

Yes, Good idea. Contact me directly.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/08, 8:00 pm by Gregg Gittler

Re: Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

You can, but should not unless there is a firm agreement among the 5 of you as to (a) how to share the fees and costs of litigation, and (b) how to divide any recoveries. Otherwise, with 5 of you each having a separate claim arising under different facts, the 5 of you would be competing with each other to recover from the same asset pool, which would create a conflict of interest for a single lawyer to handle. Also, any lawyer agreeing to represent all five of you under a fee/recovery sharing agreement must advise each of you of your right to seek independent legal counsel.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


GITTLER & BRADFORD 10537 Santa Monica Blvd., 3rd Fl. Los Angeles, CA 90025-4999

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/08, 8:00 pm by Gregg Gittler

Re: Can five plaintiffs file a lawsuit together?

You can, but should not unless there is a firm agreement among the 5 of you as to (a) how to share the fees and costs of litigation, and (b) how to divide any recoveries. Otherwise, with 5 of you each having a separate claim arising under different facts, the 5 of you would be competing with each other to recover from the same asset pool, which would create a conflict of interest for a single lawyer to handle. Also, any lawyer agreeing to represent all five of you under a fee/recovery sharing agreement must advise each of you of your right to seek independent legal counsel.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


GITTLER & BRADFORD 10537 Santa Monica Blvd., 3rd Fl. Los Angeles, CA 90025-4999

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search