California  |  Business Law

question bubble
12/25/05, 3:33 am

Legal Question


promissory estoppel

Worked with a prior friend for seven months training him in the profession I have been in for twenty years. He had no prior experience.

His promise was to sell a piece of real estate to front the money

needed to buy inventory. Seven months commuting back and forth to west coast from the East coast, stayed at his place and hotels. Worked on everything you would do when starting a business. He was given access to the manufacturer in China and all the inner workings so to speak. Because we had been friends for twenty I never asked for a contract but because of his low cash flow prior to selling the real estate my name and SSN was used to open the company bank account as well as my business mail being sent to his home office in CA. He was the one on many occasions asking me to come out to CA and referred to us as partners in front of many friends(witnesses) I lent him money, paid home gas and electric bills, rented him cars, put him up in hotels, and basically put my career off for seven months till his property was sold and he became a millionaire,At which time I was cut out of access to office, home and anything to do with company. Do I have a case and chances of winning? Thanks Joseph


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search