California  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/30/05, 12:20 pm

Legal Question


Need Rep.asap- Corp. extortion by partner

My Estranged Husband and I are 50/50 owners in S Corp. He is Pres/Tres. I am VP/Sec. He was arrested 3 weeks ago for Dom.Violence against me and a protective order is in place.He also has drug charges pend. Immed. after he rcvd. order, he emailed me and gave me a handwritten letter thru a 3rd. party stating that if I didn't resign as board member of corp. and give him checkbook, etc. he would resign and/or otherwise force the corp. into bankruptcy thus leaving me and our kids penniless. I did not respond to his threats. On 10/28, I tried to dep. payroll into corp.ckg.act and bank said act. was closed by him and they had minutes of corp. meeting from earlier that day, stating that I was removed from board, a new sec/VP was in place but I am still shareholder. New Corp. checking act. opened but my name is not on it. I need to get access to funds TODAY but payroll ck. is in corp. name. I also want to know if he can legally remove me from board? I own half corp. shares he owns other half. Could this ''new VP/Sec.'' be a board member but NOT have any shares? If not,that would mean that I'm now majority shareholder because he would have to sell one of his shares. NEED BIZ/FAMILY LAW REPRESENTATION IN SLO COUNTY BY 10-31-05!

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search