California | Business Law
Legal Question
small claims court Im being sued
Back in July I contacted a moving company to move my items. The drivers got lost, tried to charge me extra for things that were not discussed, then they damaged/destroyed several items. My one sister was there at the pick up of my items. My other sister was at the drop off. I had to work. The driver took the credit card payment. I then tried for several days to put in a claim against my items with no response. A week later a manager called me and said the driver had written down the credit card number incorrectly. I told him I was not issuing payment until a claim for my damaged items was submitted and what ever I owed after they paid for my items I would pormptly pay. I sent a certified letter and pictures of the damage. Two months after I sent the certified letter I was served with papers to appear in small claims court. They said I refused to pay for the move. They are also suing my sister who was there at the pick up location saying she signed the contract so she was responsible. do they have a case? My sister was told se was signing stating that the items had been picked up. I never signed anything. Can they sue me even though my damage items are more costly than the move?


