California | Business Law
Legal Question
Statutory Interpretation Techniques
What exactly is statutory interpretation and what are the techniques used to argue a decission either right or wrong?
Statutory Interpretation Techniques
What exactly is statutory interpretation and what are the techniques used to argue a decission either right or wrong?
|
Read More Answered By: Barry Jorgensen |
Re: Statutory Interpretation Techniques Interpretation of a statute is based on the principle of precedents. If you look up a statute in an annotated code book, each statute is followed by a summary of cases that have dealt with that particular statute. By reading several cases that refer directly to that statute, you will begin to get an idea how courts have interpreted that statute in the past. Each case relies on and gives great credence to earlier cases, "the principal of precedants." Subsequently, any current case regarding a statute will be decided the same way that similar cases have been decided in the past.
Every statute can be read differently and the secret of having your interpretation be the same the court decides is couching your interpretation directly from the principles set forth in the precedent setting cases. There are also various law reviews that discuss various cases and statutes that can be found in the law library that are also referenced in the annotated code books. Good luck. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Statutory Interpretation Techniques Statutory interpretation, or statutory construction, is the process by which courts determine what the legislature meant in drafting and enacting the particular words of a statute.
This is necessary because words and strings of words can be construed differently, especially when judges attempt to apply statutes to unusual sets of facts in the cases before them.
For example, the Unruh Civil Rights Act makes discrimination by business establishments unlawful. It's clear that General Motors is a business establishment.....but in one case the California Supreme Court was called upon to decide whether the Act applied to a school district. Yes, the court said, the legislature intended the term "business establishment" to be broad enough to include a school district....even though the average person might not think of a school operation as a business.
Tools used by courts to make such interpretations include legislative history (e.g. what proponents and opponents said the proposed law would do in legislative debate, etc.), that law's place in an overall scheme of legislation, public policy, constitutionality, and, very importantly, prior rulings of courts on the same or similar law(s).
Argument before a court to press for one interpretation or another is an art that calls for thorough research and preparation, a good command of legal principles in general, and skills in logic, persuasion and debate. |
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Enge |
Re: Statutory Interpretation Techniques I will add just a couple of things to those mentioned by the other lawyers. The reason a court may have to interpret a statute is that it may not be exactly clear how it applies to the case the judge is trying to decide. There are various rules that the judge will follow to try to make the statute make sense. Check out Nolo Press's Legal Research book, it has a good section on this issue written for laypeople. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► Corporation What happen to the monies owed in a corp if one of the three officers...
► Can a debtor collect a corporate bill from me personally when the corporation ha We...
► LLC and regular Corporations What are the advantages and disadvantages of an LLC...
► Small Claims Attorney-Client Fee Dispute Arbitration A Must Small Claims Case for...
► Contracts There is a contract involving a US company and a Swedish Company. Is there...
► Retail refund policies california While visiting California, I stopped in an art...
► Unsolicited Goods Is there a provision in the Law regarding the receipt of...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press