California | Business Law
Legal Question
I submitted this question three days ago but it was misunderstood and the answers I received did not help me. We have not vacated the premises and the business is still open. We have a written lease for ten years, but the payments we have been sending that the landlord has been accepting is without a written agreement. We have had the business for sale for over 1 1/2 years with no offers because the rent is so high, and the landlord has made no efforts on his own to find a buyer. Here is the original question. "I own a business that has been losing money since we started it. We have a ten year lease, with five years left to go. We have a personal guarantee on the lease. For the past 18 months we have been paying the landlord half the rent with the rest accumulated. There is no written agreement regarding any of this. The landlord has accepted our payments until now, but he has kept a running total of what we owe him. We sat down with him to try to negotiate a lower rent, which he was able to offer, but he insisted we pay him the back rent that we owe. We tried to offer him a settlement amount, but he would not accept it. He wants everything we owe him and has threatened to sue. We don't have the money to give him. My question is this: Can he come after our other businesses that fall under the same corporation? And how can we protect our house from a legal judgment? I think he'll try to put a lien on our house. If we put the house in an irrevocable trust for the children, will that protect it and can we still sell it if we want to? I live in California."


