California  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/16/06, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


Teenage Rock Band Playing Next Door

There is a teenage rock band with a drummer, guitarist, and lead singer that plays in the backyard next door to my residence. They are my neighbors, they are the sons of the neighbor. I called the police on them for their noise and the police advised the parents to stop the noise. The parents then advised me that they are going to construct a ''sound proof'' music studio in their backyard so that their sons can play.

After construction of this studio, they again began playing, and I can hear the noise still, the studio is not sound proof. The studio does suppress the noise somewhat, but its still annoying. I can hear drums banging, a guitar playing, and a singer singing when I am trying to watch TV, am in the bathroom, or when I'm taking a nap or just trying to relax in my home. It's still pretty loud despite the studio, and its not ''sound proof'' as they've claimed.

Is having a teenage rock band in a residential neighborhood even legal? Before I consider suing, I want to know if this is even legal first. Shouldn't a rock band get a music studio in an industrial area? Are they allowed to practice in a residential area?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search