California  |  Business Law

question bubble
4/29/09, 1:14 pm

Legal Question


Validity of Document email vs Fax

A principal at our company states that on our credit application an officer/applicant must fax their credit application in, rather than scan the document and email as an attachment. His claim is that a document that hasnt been received as a fax will not stand up in a court of law. This doesnt sound accurate to me, since the customer is electronically transmitting the same exact document. An email with the original signed application attached (PDF, etc) is much cleaner and easier to read document than the facsimile copy. Many Companies no longer even use fax. Just to clarify, I am NOT talking about an ''electronic'' signature, but the exact same document that would be faxed being sent as a scanned document attachment in an email. Any light you can shed would be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search