California | Business Law
Legal Question
Verbal Contracts
I've been in a verbal contract business with a friend for 14 months. The company has been incorporated, but no official documents have been filed. We worked out of his house for 13 months but recently moved into a office space. The company was verbally 50/50. We had a parting of words, and he has changed the locks, all passwords for the business, and told me to stay out. He has offered to buy me out. At this time a dollar figure has not been presented. I have offered the same and was immediately turned down. The business license, office space, and company checking account are in his name. We carry an inventory of $60,000., I have one credit card in the business name with me as a signer, and a large balance due. Do I have any options legally to this company and where can I go for legal help?


