California  |  Business Law

question bubble
9/18/07, 2:14 pm

Legal Question


Wedding (in California):Breach of contract in wine served

For my wedding on Saturday, the wrong wine was served - significantly cheaper than in contract with venue. Contract is according to California Law.

We contracted with the venue to serve 3 wines (2 reds and 1 white), including a White Chardonnay called Edna Valley (about $12-$13 retail). It was explictedly written into our contract which wines should be served for $16 per person fee (4 hours).

At reception, they put out wrong wine - Deep Canyon which retails for $4.00; I corrected it at reception and they put out correct wine. At dinner, they again poured the Deep Canyon to my guests -- one is a wine professional who said wine was not only bad quality, but also oxidized (spoiled) - when she insisted they serve Edna Valley, they produced a bottle, but kept pouring the bad stuff for rest of night.

I have 4 witnesses, including my bride and the wine professional who certify the wine was terrible.

What legal recourse to I have? What type of damage can I claim for wrong wine served for wine fees of about $4000 (folks drank mostly wine rather than hard liquor)?

Also contract had a confidentiality provision - does that mean we can't complain to ''better business bureau'' or post factually true review on bridal web?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search