California | Business Law
Legal Question
I work in the medical field. I am an hourly employee. We frequently have mandatory meetings to the tune of about 8 a month. They last 30 min - 90 min. I work the graveyard shift. All meetings are scheduled between 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. This means I work and then have to come back a few hours later.
Is there anything where they have to pay me at least 2 hrs pay or split shift? Is there anything that says it is dangerous to continually schedule work related meeting during a persons normal sleep hours? I have asked that they do the meetings at the beginning or end of noc shift but they feel it is inconveinent to the person who does our meetings as she works 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. I feel it is dangerous to be driving with no sleep!
Also you have to come to a meeting at 10:00 am to get your check. If you don't come to the 10:00 am meeting you have to wait until 2:00 pm to pick up your check.


