California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
2/27/08, 12:29 pm

Legal Question


490.5 (b) (c)

I received a notice from an attorneys

stating that they are

representing Walmart and they

have a claim against me regarding an

incident that took place in one of

their stores 3 months ago. This

is all news to me as I was never

contacted nor were the police. When

I asked my son how they received

our address, my son said that they

made him sign something stating

that he cant return to the store.

This person presented himself as a

police officer from another county,

but is a employee of Walmart. This

letter states that I have 20 days to

pay them or they will review the file

and possibly further action will be

taken. Is this legit? I called the

attorneys and they told me,

the store got the information

off my son's ID. My son doesn't have

an ID. Maybe a school ID, but that

doesn't have any address information

on it. They refused to admit the store

made my son sign something but my

son said they did. I was told to call

them back in a couple of days to get

additional info. My son is a

minor. Isnt it CA law to contact a

parent or the local police in a

situation like this?I feel like they are

abusing this document they made

my son sign for monetary gain

purposes only.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search