California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
10/31/07, 5:33 pm

Legal Question


Acknowledge of Satisfaction

I lost a case nearly two years ago in small claims which I paid in full within a month of receiving the judgement. The plantiff never filled out the Acknowlegement of Satisfaction and the judge ordered her to return to explain why she failed to do so. Her excuse was that the court had ordered me to pay $500 and her to pay $75. I paid $425 and she didn't feel comfortable filling out that form. The judge was a temporary one and somewhat confused over the situation and told her to fill out the form. I just want to clarify again that I was correct in how I paid and that I am not required to fill out an acknowlegement of satisfaction and that she still is required to fill that out. If she still refuses to fill that out, what is my next step? Also, since this has surprisingly really damaged my credit, can you give me any information on suing for damaged credit so I can determine if that's an option for me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search