California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
4/25/08, 4:23 pm

Legal Question


assault battery by professor

I'm a community college student who was involved in a verbal arguement with my professor (the dept chair). I wasn't yelling or cursing, but was ''taking a tone''. We were both frustrated and she wouldn't answer my question about the lab being performed. This after I watched her help another student. Finally she raised her lab manual,(soft cover, apx 200 pages) over her head, exclaimed ''I don't CARE what YOU do--name removed--'' She then swung the lab book, hitting my upper arm and shoulder. She used the book to push past, leaving me between her force and a stationary counter. I was not physically injured. I raised my voice some saying not to ever touch me again and walked out of the classroom. I did not file a police report, deciding instead to talk to the dean. I wrote him a letter on my computer, but, worried about repricussions, had not yet sent it. A couple days ago I got a certified letter informing me that a diciplinary action for disruption of class had been filed against me. I was thinking she was lucky I didn't press charges against her. Wasn't I at least legally battered? What should I do now? I have an apt with the dean on tues and the diciplinary staff on wed. I have rights, right?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search