Re: Attorney on Probation
You can order a probation report at http://www.calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/sbc_generic.jsp?cid=13469&id=23365.
The State Bar reported the following in 12/06: JAMES W. BRAVOS [#138097], 51, of San Diego was suspended from practice for two years, stayed, placed on four years of probation and was ordered to prove his rehabilitation and take the MPRE within one year. The order took effect July 13, 2006.
Bravos stipulated to misconduct in two matters.
In the first, while representing the defendant in a civil lawsuit, he failed to appear for three case management conferences, two mediation hearings, a trial setting conference and an order to show cause hearing. He was sanctioned $3,712.50. He didn't pay the sanctions or report them to the State Bar. The case eventually settled.
In the second matter, Bravos wrote checks against insufficient funds in his client trust account, commingled funds and used the account to pay personal and business expenses.
In mitigation, he has no discipline record since his 1988 admission to the bar, he cooperated with the bar's investigation and he had severe family and financial problems.
If I might give you assistance with your case, please let me know, directly.