California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
I am in a bad situation I just lost my job and cannot afford my apartment. It is a one-year lease and i need to break my lease what is the legal way; plan to move out of town
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
Talk to your landlord and see what you can work out. They will not want you around if you cannot pay your rent. They will need to make efforts to re-lease your apartment and they will tell you that you are responsible for the lease until they get someone else which is true. However as a practical matter they probably would want you out voluntarily sooner than later otherwise they will have to spend money to evict you. So perhaps if they are smart they will agree to you moving out without having to do an eviction and let you off the lease. If you have no money and are judgment proof they are not going to get any money anyhow and why spend money for nothing. That at least is the argument I would use. Sorry to hear about your situation and best of luck to you.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


