California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
civil rights violation
I feel that my civil rights have been violated by the local police. I was recently arrested on felony charges based on a crime report in which the police (2 officers) lied about my statements and the statements of several witnesses. At my preliminary hearing, the superior officer claimed that he had digitally recorded the entire police visit to my home, including his questioning of me, my son and others. My trial continues to be continued (4 months so far) as we wait for the police to turn over this recording, which they now claim they are unable to find (a digital recording that was stored on their computer). I cannot work until I am cleared of these charges (I am a disabled teacher; I substitute when I can work). I have experienced physical problems directly resulting from the arrest.
Can I sue the officers (and the local and county governments), for violating my civil rights, even though, as I understand, the police are allowed to lie about what a person says? (California) Aside from the monetary losses and physical injury, I am determined to see these bad cops fired and barred from working as police officers again!


