California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
illegal search, seizure and no arrest
I was leaving my storeage facility one evening and was not aware of the time. Usually the security guard makes a courtesy call to notify everone 15 minutes before closing. This evening he did not and it was at the same tiem of year that the clock changes. I heard a noise outside my unit and some man saying ''come out with your hands up'' I had no idea who or what it was about. I asked ''who are YOu?' The man lied and said that he was ''the police.'' Therefore , i proceeded to come out and when I did the man was the ''security officerof the building. I said ''What??!!'' and before I hada chance to say a thing, he threw me to the ground grabbed my arms and roughly threw them into a pair of handcuffs.'' I asked ''What the hell are you doing?'' He would not tell me anythingand said that I was ''trespaaing.'' I demanded he take the handcuffs off of me and he warned me that if I said anything he would use his billyclub on me. I told him he had no right to do this and that I was already a client there and he knew damn well that I was. he denied me the right to offer any type of explaantion. I told him that I had the keys to my unit . He called the police and tried to arrest me but had no grounds.


