California | Civil Rights Law
9/28/07, 2:16 pm
Legal Question
landlords and homeowners rights
what rights do they have, can they rent to anyone they want to regarding race?
landlords and homeowners rights
what rights do they have, can they rent to anyone they want to regarding race?
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: landlords and homeowners rights Landlords are free to reject anyone they don't want as tenants, unless there is proof they are violating the civil rights / discrimination laws. The burden of proof is on the tenant claiming discrimination; and no intelligent landlord is going to admit they're rejecting you because of that or any illegal reason [even if that is the actual reason]. I advise landlord clients to reject anyone with poor credit or poor personal appearance and behavior, and for many other reasons, none of which are 'illegal'. Basically, if they wouldn't want you as a visitor in their home, they shouldn't let you in as a tenant in their rental house. |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
Re: landlords and homeowners rights Landlords cannot discriminate based on race. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
► Jena 6 The protestors of the Jena 6 incident want the ''white'' students to be...
► Name Is it legal to use any name, if it not for freudulant purposes. If so do you...
► Statute of limitations What is the statute of limitations on a case where the Contra...
► 4th amendment rights can a civil suit be brought against a landlord that give a key...
► Domistic violance in a male who is having problem w/ babies mother who comes over a...
► Disclosing a former employer on my online resume I was contacted by a former...
► Lawyer owes me money I was in a lawsuit two years ago. I won and received a lump sum...
More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press