California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 8:24 pm

Legal Question


Lasik Surgery. I had custom Lasik. Spent 5 thousand dollars and in 2 years it faded away now I am wearing glasses and my eyes are exactly the same before I got the surgery. Can I sue the doctor for a refund in small claims court or sue in the big court?


question bubble
11/16/09, 8:34 pm

Legal Answer


You can sue anywhere you like, but I suspect you were required to sign the typical disclaimer and advisement of rights and risks that told you there was no guarantee of success or long term results. Plus, regardless of how you describe it, you are actually trying to claim 'malpractice'. That requires you have a medical doctor prepared to credibly testify as an 'expert' that there was malpractice that damaged you. Plus, you have a one year statute of limitations running from the time you were aware of the 'malpractice' problem.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search