California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
I live in California, and just received a call from a travel booking company. They stated that 5 years ago I had made a reservation to attend a 90 min presentation in Las Vegas and stay at the hotel for $212 . They have record of me staying but not attending the presentation, so now I'm in breach of contract and they could sue me for the full amount of $1200 and send me to collections or resign up for $496 and attend a 90 min presentation. This would clear me of the contract. If I attend the presentation they would re-imburse me $400. I told them that I did sign up for that and paid the $212 on my credit card, but 1hr later I cancelled and was reimbursed $112 of that because there was a $100 processing fee. The guy said that cancelling it doesn't get me out of the contract, the $100 was a charge for one night at the hotel instead of two but I still needed to go. My question is am I still in contract? Should I pay the $496? or is this just a scam?


