The merchandise my 16 yr old daughter shoplifted, is valued at $50.00. She doesn't have a criminal record and this is the first time in trouble. The attorney is asking $375.00 due in 20 days. This is more than we can afford to pay at one time. Do I have any options?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Whether you pay the 'cost demand' or not, the store can file criminal charges, and most stores will do so. Consider saving your money to hire a criminal defense attorney, who will charge considerably more than that demand.
If serious about hiring counsel, feel free to contact me. If you can't afford private counsel, then apply for the Public Defender at the first court appearance, if the store does press charges. You'll get a letter from the DA if they do.
Related Questions & Answers
Can a person be placed under arrest for being stupid Asked 8/05/13, 7:55 pm in United States California Civil Rights Law
Katherine, my adult son has a 5150 on his medical record from 2009, in California.... Asked 8/05/13, 12:48 pm in United States California Civil Rights Law
I require an attorney to review and correct a federal civil complaint that the court... Asked 8/05/13, 11:20 am in United States California Civil Rights Law
My 20 year old daughter was driving with her 17 year old sister in a car that had... Asked 8/01/13, 3:42 pm in United States California Civil Rights Law
I Recently Got Caught Shop Lifting From Walmart in California. The Police Did Not... Asked 7/31/13, 7:33 pm in United States California Civil Rights Law