California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Minor Shoplifting
In 2006 my mino daughter was caught shoplifting. The item was returned to the store in saleable condition. It was her first and only time shoplifting. The store has a civil collection office to collect for them. Do I stand a chance refusing to pay the totally inflated charges the law office is requesting? I am looking fo a good legal response to the law offices. I know alot of people are intimidated by legal letters, and are fearful of court procedures. I am awae that these types of law firms take pride in retrieving money for the client and themselves at any cost. Civil code 490.5(b)


