California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
7/01/08, 3:10 pm

Legal Question


payroll

I have a question concrening my payroll. I worked for a private school. My children attended the school and tuition was taken out of my check. It has been this way for 8 years. This past year, my employer failed to withdrawl the money from my check up until Dec. when they realized their mistake. We made arrangments for them to take out money from my check weekly of $85.00. The school is closing and I still owe tuition which is still on the arrangment of $85.00 a week and I am willing to pay. This week I was paid $180.00 without notice, when I called and questioned them they said they are in financial distress and so they will be deducting $300.00 a week until my tuition is paid in ful. I did not agree to this and told the finance manager that I could not afford more then the $85.00 at this time. Now my family of 5 is living on $180.00 a week. Is this legal? If they are not garnishing all of the other famlies wages who owe them money, how is it not dicrimination against me because they happen to control my paycheck? I did not agree to the $300.00 deduction and will be in severe finanical distress now, do I have grounds to sue?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search