California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Police Misconduct
In 1996, Ms M was walking across the parking lot at Newport Pier. She was struck by a speeding van and was hurled 30 ft. A Newport Beach Police office was immediatly at the scene and his police report reflected that the driver was ''not'' at fault. The only ''eye'' witness was a surfer who was holding the parking space for the van that struck Ms M. The speed limit is 5 mph yet Ms M was thrown 30 feet from the impact, received broken ribs which punchured her kidney and lacerated her liver which left her bleeding internally. She underwent an emergency operation to save her life. She had no insurance and because the police report reflected that she was at fault, she did not receive any compensation. She is currently undergoing major medical problems and yet no one is held accountable. How could the Newport Beach Police Officer say that the van driver was not at fault when he was obviously speeding? Was the van driver related in some way to the Police Officer? How come the only ''eye witness'' was the van drivers friend? Why wasn't the van driver sited? One attorney that was going to take the case said that it was ''too big'' for him. (cover up, conspiracy?) Can You Help?


