California | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Search of Children's Backpacks
At an afterschool program for children ages K-6 in a local church an adult helper left her cell phone on the counter and it ''disappeared''. The staff immediately identified three children to search on the premise that they were ''likely suspects''. The children refused and called their parents to pick them up. The parent was required to pat down the children and search their backpacks before leaving the building. The rest of the children's backpacks were then searched with their consent but without parents' knowledge or consent. Is this legal? Our pastor has instructed the staff not to do this again.


