California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
7/30/06, 10:37 pm

Legal Question


Freelance computer repair liability limit

I installed a printer/scanner for a client & it worked. Later they insisted they could not scan 14 page documents & that their disk was giving ''full'' errors. They then improperly installed an external hard drive to fix it. Didn't help. They called & said they couldn't send their huge scanned files & said it was the printer's fault or mine. Their antivirus was set to reject large files. Later their system gave network errors when they tried to scan huge files. Their 97% full, shared, internal hard disk was kicking out all jobs. I told them I was not a network or hard disk specialist & to call a specialist. They agreed. (A month later they said they never saw the original specialist & fixed the problem on their own.) Later they want me to fix their USB hubs which died & I said to call the specialist. They then installed their own USB hub & then called me to tell me their camera was not working & that the printer was giving an error message. I told them to see a specialist. They have messed around with their systems for a month & who knows what they did. They improperly installed an external hard drive & later a USB hub. What is my liability? Was no contract. No guarantee given. What should I say if they call & insist I come out.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search