California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
12/22/08, 2:36 pm

Legal Question


Identity Theft Question

I was recently requested to meet with an officer regarding a prank I had pulled a few months ago. I sent an email spoofing (faking) my email address as someone else. The email was non-threatening nor harrasing...it was a simple letter of resignation. The officer confiscated all of my computers and said he was recommending I be charged with identity theft. He said they have my computers to see if I am doing anything else illegal. What are the chances the DA will want to pursue my ''Identity Theft'' case, and is it illegal for them to take my PC's looking for other activities?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search