California | Technology Law
Legal Question
If I want to use parts of songs in videos that will possibly be shown in a film festival for my school, what kind of legal document do I need giving me permission?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gordon Firemark |
You need two (2) documents for each song included. The first document is called a "Synchronization License", which covers the rights in the musical composition. The second is called a "Master License", which covers the recording of the song. Since the composition and master are likely owned by different parties (the songwriter or publisher on one hand, and the record company on the other), there's no one-stop shopping.
Expect to pay something for the licenses you seek. If you're doing a 'festival only' license, for a school project, the fees will be very low... you MIGHT even be able to get a free or 'gratis' license, but doing so will take a loooong time. These companies are in business to make money... so requests for freebies go to the bottom of the pile.
If you need help, there are consultants, music licensing companies, and attorneys (myself included) who do this kind of thing all the time. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


