California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
9/25/04, 1:42 pm

Legal Question


Procedural process for filing motion to dismiss for ''forum non conveniens''

Legal problem:

Plaintiff files complaint in New York state court against

defendant who lives in California. Personal jurisdiction is clearly California (min contacts, domicile, and alleged breach: all in California). So essentially this amounts to nothing more than a nuisance lawsuit (assume no long arm statutes apply).

Question:

I will need to file a motion to dismiss with prejudice for ''forum non conveniens'', BUT I need to know what the LEAST expensive process for doing this is. Does someone have to show up in person to file at the courthouse, can I file over registered mail - or better yet, secure email ?

How do people deal with this type of issue without unreasonable amounts of money ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search