10/25/09, 3:44 am

Question

Hello. I have recently signed up with an Internet Service Provider, DSL, in my area and they are not giving me consistent speeds. I had called them to tell them that I am not getting the speeds in which I signed the contract for (3mbit/384kbit). The speeds we get, sustained, are around 2.2 to 2.5mbit. They responded to me in a voicemail that the speeds are "within acceptable ranges". In my opinion, they are not acceptable as 2.2mbit is not what I paid for. I want to break the contract under the fact that they are not upholding their end by giving the speeds in which I am paying for. Could I legally break off the 1 year contract without paying the $250 cancellation fee? I have only had the internet for around 20 days and it's not satisfying me or my roommates. For comparison, the other ISP that we have up here is a Cable ISP. I have both ISP's because I am waiting for this month to end the cable (They do not have contracts.). I currently have 2mbit from them and I consistently get 2mbit or higher when I run speedtests.


Answer

Whether you can cancel without penalty depends upon what yo
  Next Question ►

 


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search