California | Technology Law
Legal Question
similar domain name, trademark name - potential proble?
we would like to establish a trademark and domain name. in doing a domain name search we found a name spelled differently but sounding exactly like the name we wanted to use. the established domain name is a company that focuses on creating mobile, wireless, network applications for businesses and professional organizations. our focus will be servicing basic computer tech problems, providing educational books and newsletters, and beginner computer classes to the general public new to computers.
if we continue to use our name that sounds similar to this other company's name, will we have to worry about problems of changing our name because it sounds like his? further assuming that he has not registered his name, by commonlaw, would we be in danger of violating any copyright/trademark laws?
thanks!


