California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
11/01/07, 10:44 pm

Legal Question


stolen photos from computer

Is it a criminal offense to download private photos from someones computer without their permission, where they are not being used for commercial purposes or extortion, just for private or personal viewing? The stolen photos are nude self-portraits and apparently the thief is just using them for his personal viewing. The thief was authorized to use the laptop where the photos were stored, but not authorized to appropriate them. Is their a cause of action against him, even if he hasn't published them?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search