California | Technology Law
Legal Question
technical documentation source files
I own a corporation that provides technical writing services. I have a client for whom I've delivered documentation for four years in two formats: PDFs for beta and for the final release a CD with PDFs and the source (FrameMaker files) for one very small manual out of a total of 5 manuals.
I was told in December the client would continue to use my services until may/june. Last week, after delivering PDFs for a beta release, my contract was terminated without any notice.
My first question is, since two people told me my contract would continue until may/june, do I have any recourse for breach of contract (verbal).
Secondly, the client has requested me to hand over source files. Do they own the source or do I? My contract stipulates that I provide ''technical writing services''; it does not mention source.


