Legal Question in Technology Law in California

Hello there!

I am a 13 year programmer, and had stumbled across this website: http://bitcoinmaniac.com . This inspired me to update my site to look more modern: http://nahtnam.com The creator of bitcoinmaniac contacted me VIA PM on http://bitcointalk.org (which is down due to DDOS attack), and told me to give him credit. I refused, and he started spamming my threads on that forums, and looked up my address from the WHOIS of my site, and started posting it on http://coinchat.org I gave him credit to keep him quiet, but I really do not want to give him credit. Do I legally have to give him credit? I have not copied any of his source code, only the layout. Thanks a lot for all of the help you can give!

Asked on 10/06/13, 11:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rob Reed Law Office of Robert A. Reed
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Look and feel is generally not copyrightable. That being said, it can be... and considering the trouble this guy has tried to get you into, you're better off just doing a different design.

Read more
10/07/13, 11:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Computer & Technology Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now