California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
7/26/09, 10:55 pm

Legal Question


VeriSign chooses what are "premium .tv domains" and what are "regular .tv domains." They classify dogs.tv as "premium" and dog.tv as "regular." eNOM is the only accredited registrar of "premium .tv" names as classified by VeriSign, and they have an exclusive agreement together, and therefore I can't transfer the "premium" domain name dogs.tv (premium) from eNOM to another registrar such as GoDaddy.com, as I was able to transfer dog.tv (regular) from Register.com to GoDaddy.com. Shall I call VeriSign out on this inconsistency (i.e. why dogs is premium but not dog)? [Actually, I am just using dog as an example, but it makes the same point since it's just the difference between a plural and singular form of a noun as the domain name].


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search