California | Technology Law
Legal Question
I'm working on software that will improve upon a program currently on the market. While I don't plan on doing anything unethical and I'm not making a cheap initiation, my software will implement many of the features that the currently existing program does. I'm afraid, though, that my program might come too close to looking like a much upgraded version of theirs. One key difference, though, is that my program will be a web application and theirs runs on a PC. How should I proceed and make sure I stay within the bounds of copyright law? Are there any resources I should read up on?


