California  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
12/04/01, 1:37 pm

Legal Question


What constitute one's rights to a speedy trial?

On April 4, 2001, my girlfriend and I had an altercation result in her calling the police. The police came to my home looking for me. I was not at home. The following day I went to the police station to see what the police wanted. I was told that there was no warrant issued for my arrest. I asked whether there had been any charges filed against me or not. The clerk said that there were no charges filed.

On November 18, 2001, seven months later, the sheriff department and other agents came and knocked on my door. I answered, the officers placed me under arrest. I would like to know. If there is a statute of limitation law that applies within the 7 months laps? If so, What is that law and statute? And whether my constitution rights to a speedy trial were violated pursuant to the Sixth Amendment of the constitution ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search