California | Constitutional Law
9/29/03, 9:36 pm
Legal Question
whats th diferent between civil procedure and substantive law
whats the different between civil procedure and substantive law?
whats th diferent between civil procedure and substantive law
whats the different between civil procedure and substantive law?
|
Read More Answered By: Donald Holben |
Re: whats th diferent between civil procedure and substantive law The rules used by courts and attorneys and parties involved in "civil litigation", is considered "civil procedure." California has a specific "Code of Civil Procedure". Substantive laws are those "laws" which govern, guide or control the manner in which persons and/or entitities conduct their day to day activities. |
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Re: whats th diferent between civil procedure and substantive law Civil procedure refers to the rules which courts -- and the attorneys and parties handling civil cases in those courts -- must follow. (In many jurisdictions there are separate rules of criminal procedure which apply in criminal cases.) Substantive laws are those which govern the way people and business entities act in their day-to-day affairs.
Usually a given law will clearly be either procedural or substantive, but there are times when the distinction is far from clear. Such situations usually involve rules which simultaneously specify how a court should handle a given situation and define the rights of parties faced with that situation. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
► Violation of Constitutional Rights? About 3 years ago my husband went to a gun show...
► Double Jeopardy I have always been forthcoming with my criminal record consisting of...
► CRC State Prison Denies Visitation of Fiancee My fiancee is serving 9 months at...
► Laws regarding leafleting at public forums. I volunteer for a presidential campaign...
► California recall election If the California Gvernor resigns before the recall...
► Licensed attorney Please bear in mind that this is a question from someone in a...
► Loss of US Citizenship without a hearing. If you do not accept this plea, please...
More Constitutional Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press