California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Breach of contract and termination
Hello I'm a contractor. I signed up a contract with a homeowner to do a remodeling. During the construction process the homeowners stopped the construction process in the middle because they didn't like how it looked until an engineer came and said that everything had been done correctly. However, everything was stopped for a week. The homeowners kept constantly delaying payments and asked for changes that were not on the plans. The last straw was the moment when the homeowner didn't issue the payment as promised. Hence I called my workers off considering that unacceptable. The homeowner had issued some payments for materials according to my payment schedule, but the materials were not ordered because he didn't pay me for the things I had completed and started. He wants his money back, and I want my money for the things I have completed and loss of profit. According to the contract with me and the homeowner there is an arbitration in case of a dispute, but I'm trying to come to a mutual consent. But it doesn't look it is going to happen because I sent him a settlement agreement which protects me, all lines that gave me protection were removed and now he wants me to sign it. What are my options vs the homeowner?


