California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
2/09/08, 1:44 pm

Legal Question


Builders responsibilities

We bought a new custom home . The house was never lived in and completed in 2006. It was empty for a year and we purchased it in January 2007. We had the doors inspected and found that they were installed incorrectly and they are warped. We have cold air blowing in and water leaks. The builder was contacted and he is not willing to cover the cost to repair or replace the doors. Isn't he still liable for this? Do builders have warranties they have to be responsible for over a certain amount of years? And if so, what is that time frame for structural defects and poor workmanship? We did contact him within the first year of living here. What can we do to get him to pay for this? The cost is $20,000.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search