California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/05/05, 4:43 pm

Legal Question


charges over and above bid

The agreed written contract price was as follows;

Remodel kitchen, replace all windows, restucco exterior

$ 59,156. Remove existing patio, and room addition $ 136,900 (1575 sq. ft.). The addition included 2 bedrooms, and 2 baths, and a family room.

The contract was signed 9/29/04, work was started 4/13/05, final inspection 8/29/05. The contractor came to me on 8/23/05 and said he had made a mistake on his square footage calculations and that he needed an additional $ 82,220, but that if I agreed that he would take $ 50,235. I told I would not pay any additional cost over what was agreed to. I told him that the contract was based on the job and not the square footage, and that it was not the time to be adding that large of an amount of money. I also told him that if it were included in the original price that I would not have agreed to do the work. I paid him his final check on 9/29/05.Total paid to contractor on time $196,056. I do not feel that once the contract is signed that it can be changed by one person.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search