California | Construction Law
8/07/07, 11:33 am
Legal Question
comercial construction in a residential area
does the comercial property need to have a privacy wall
comercial construction in a residential area
does the comercial property need to have a privacy wall
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: comercial construction in a residential area This is all governed by your community's zoning laws and policies it has developed for granting use permits. If an area is zoned for strictly residential use, no commercial use of property is legal. So, this is probably mixed-use zoning, or perhaps two different but adjoining zones, one allowing of favoring commercial use.
In many zoning systems, commercial activity on a limited scale is permissible within a primarily residential neighborhood, often requiring a use permit for each commercial use. At the time the property owner applies for a use permit, there can be hearings to determine neighbor concerns, and the property owner will be required to furnish plans, etc. for comment and criticism.
At that point the local authorities can impose requirements for the issuance of the use permit. Those requirements might be a privacy wall, or maybe limits on the hours of operation, or requirements for additional off-street parking, or whatever seems reasonable to protect the character and quality of the neighborhood without unduly crippling the right of the property owner to put his property to profitable use. |
|
Read More Answered By: Jim Schaefer |
Re: comercial construction in a residential area Mr. Whipple's answer is right on this issue. I would simply add that you visit your local zoning department and building and safety department and provide them with the address and ask them what requirements are needed for fencing as it relates to privacy. Good luck. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Contractor Hiring Unlicensed Sub to Complete job/Job abandonment I contracted with a...
► Builder Negligence During the construction of our home, (a contract to build a...
► Export to California of construction wooden panel Good morning, I write to know if I...
► Service of product sold I am a small window and door company that sells many...
► Paid travel time? I work in contruction and my employer wants me to fly to a job out...
► Hoa responsibilities I live in a condo that was converted from an apt. I have been...
► Pool contractor has not completed pool Can we post a notice in newspaper asking...
More Construction Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press