California | Construction Law
Legal Question
I did a complete water damaged re modal repairs on cottage.The owner and I had a verbal agreement of seven thousand dollars.I am unlicensed. we agreed on a hourly wage(.Is this legal )she refuses to pay me the remaining two grand.I have pictures and receipts.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Sorry to say, doing contractor work without being licensed is illegal, and the courts will not enforce your agreement - not for the reason that it was verbal, but for the reason that you are unlicensed.
You do mention agreeing to work for an hourly wage. This may suggest you were working as an employee of the owner, rather than as a contractor. There is an exemption in the contractors state license law for employees (at Business and Professions Code section 7053). However, you would not be considered an employee unless you worked solely for wages, you were not operating like a person in business for himself, and you had no control or discretion over how the work is performed in terms of the final results. Agreement on a lump sum ($7,000) is contrary to being an employee working hourly.
I think that although the owner might have a moral obligation to pay you, I don't think there is a legal obligation that you could enforce. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Michael A. Olden
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


