Re: Construction Contract - House Fire
"Can I take a witness written statement (family member) and use this as evidence? Do they have to appear at trial? Can I refer to the statement at trial?"
--- With very limited exception, a trial judge will not accept a declaration in lieu of personal testimony. For example, declaration can used to authenticate business records. To even get a judge to consider declarations, you need to show that the witness is very unavailable.
"If I have information now that I did not have when the defendant asked in the interrogatories do I have to turn them over to them now."
---Unless you’re in federal court, there is no continuing obligation to update interrogatory responses. But I caution you – unless you have a good explanation regarding why the information was not available earlier (when your responded to the interrogatories), you open yourself up to impeachment and possibly, even sanction by the trial judge. I would recommend that you voluntarily update.
"If I have an expert witness can they also write the estimate for damages I sustained?"
---Provided that you properly disclosed the expert AND the subject matter of his testimony (e.g. repair estimate) before trial and he is competent and qualified to provide such an estimate, that expert can provide a written estimate. But as practical matter, I recommend that get an actual “bid.”
"If I have a piece of evidence (pictures, letters, scopes of work, etc. do I have to call a witness to testify for each piece of evidence just to say they are correct?"
---All documentary evidence needs to be authenticated, whether it be by a witness on the stand (e.g. the person who prepared the bid, the one who took the photo, etc.), or by declaration (if the records quality as business records as discussed above)
From your series of questions and the subject line, I strongly recommend that you some professional legal advice, whether it be from an attorney or local legal assistance agency or law librarian (if you cannot afford an attorney). Civil trial procedure is full of filing requirement and deadlines – miss one, and you may lose your ability to get your case before a jury.
[Please be advised that the statements and opinions provided above are an informational service to the general public. Since this reply is based upon an incomplete description of facts, this email should not used as a substitute for legal advice from a qualified and fully-informed attorney. Moreover, these communications are intended for use by the public. As such, this email does not constitute an confidential communication nor does it create an attorney-client relationship with Lynes & Associates or any of its members.]