California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
10/06/07, 4:57 pm

Legal Question


construction-flooring -fraud

We hired a reputable licensed flooring company to install all new floors throughout our house. Without our knowledge they hired an unlicensed independent contractor to do the job. Both the company we hired and the installer led us to believe the installer, and his crew, were employees of the hired company. The installer and his crew even wore uniforms with the name of the hired company imprinted on their clothes when they came to do the job. The job was botched due to clear mistakes the installer made during installation. The floors are a total loss and have to be removed and replaced. We got several quotes when looking to hire a flooring company. We checked licensing and would have never knowingly hired anyone unlicensed to install our floors. The company has already stated in writing that the installer is most definitely a sub contractor and not an employee (this includes all of the installers employees as well)My question is: Does the fact that they led us to believe we were hiring a licensed contractor constitute fraud on the part of the company we hired to do the job? And if it does, are we entitled to additional damages including punitive and or attorney’s fees (and expert’s fees) etc?

Thank you for any help


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search