California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Contract & warranties
We are a general--name removed--who has completed work at a residence. During the job, a sub--name removed--s employee threatened to file a lien for work performed. Upon hearing this, we obtained a full release and provided a copy to the homeowner. The homeowner was refinancing the home at the time and deducted the fee for title search from our contract amount despite having a lien release. We disagree that we owe for the title search fee and still show an outstanding balance for his job in our records. Three months later, there is tile grout that is cracking and the homeowner insists we repair it under warranty. Since the homeowner did not pay the full contract amount, does the contract become void? Does he have a right to pass on the cost for a title search despite being provided with the lien release? Also, are we obligated to any warranty clauses in contract even if we have not received full payment?


