California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
7/26/07, 11:59 am

Legal Question


Contractor in breach of contract

Since I've terminated my contractor due to breach of contract, I need to know if I could go after the contractor financially. His 5-month delay beyond what stated in the contract has caused us to incur financial penalty from the bank $37,000 for requesting extension beyond the 12-month term loan agreement, mechanical lien from his suppliers, uncompleted works that were already paid for, substandard works that will need to be corrected by subsequent contractor, the penalty of $10,000 inflicted by us for going over the stated date of completion in our contract, and the monies we paid him for material deposit which he have not started the work (materials are at the job site). What is my next step in going after him since the construction is not completed (45% done). Our attorney told us to finish the construction first and then go after him. Is this a viable option or should we go after him now.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search