California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Defective Window
We contracted with a customer to paint their house and install retrofit windows. We sub-contracted to have windows purchased and installed. Homeowner was told that putting air conditioner in window would void warranty, but we have no proof. One window leaked badly. Has damaged homeowners wall & carpet. We tried everything, sub checked to be sure installation was correct, etc. Finally contacted window company that supplied windows. Working to get this taken care of, but who is legally responsible for damages?


